The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod (LCMS) started in 1847 with just 14 congregations, which were later divided into four geographic districts. Today, the LCMS has some 6,000 congregations divided into 35 districts that span all 50 states and Canada. In this video, LCMS Third Vice-President Rev. Dr. Scott Murray explains what districts are and how they serve as “Synod in that place.”

‘Life Together as Synod’ video series

An informational video series on our mutual commitment to confession, mission and good order.