The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod (LCMS) was founded on April 26, 1847, when 12 pastors representing 14 congregations from Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, Michigan, New York and Ohio signed the church body’s constitution at First St. Paul Lutheran Church, Chicago. Since that time, the LCMS has endured many trials and triumphs — all by the grace of God.

As our church body celebrates its 175th anniversary in 2022, now is an excellent time to learn more about the LCMS. The following resources, all available from Concordia Publishing House, delve into the Synod’s founding, doctrine and notable moments.

Learn more about the Synod’s 175th anniversary at